Skip to main content

Maxwell Finland

Celebrating Global Public Health Heroes

As we celebrate our 45th anniversary, we are proud to honor three individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to public health: Kathryn M. Edwards, MD; Roger I. Glass, MD, PhD; and Anne Schuchat, MD (RADM, USPHS)…

Celebrating Infectious Disease Heroes: Myron M. Levine, MD

Over a 45+-year career, Myron M. Levine, MD, a pioneer of the modern discipline of vaccinology, has made fundamental innovative contributions to research on infectious diseases, vaccine development, and vaccine implementation, with a focus on specific infections that constitute major causes of disease and death among children and adults in developing countries. NFID is proud to honor Dr. Levine with the 2017 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement for his impressive accomplishments in global public health.

The 2016 Oscars of Infectious Diseases

The infectious disease community recently celebrated three heroes at the 2016 NFID Awards Dinner, also known as the ‘Oscars’ of Infectious Diseases. Past awardee Anthony S. Fauci, MD, presented Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD with the 2016 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, Robert E. Black, MD, MPH was presented the 2016 Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award by Mathuram Santosham, MD, MPH, and Larry K. Pickering, MD received the 2016 John P. Utz Leadership Award from NFID President-Elect Walter A. Orenstein, MD.

Answering Complex and Difficult Questions

The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) recently presented the 2016 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement to Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD in recognition of her career as a distinguished virologist, renowned for her studies of measles and alphaviruses, as well as her leadership and dedication to mentoring the next generation of infectious disease investigators.

The Oscars of Infectious Diseases

This week, the stars came out to celebrate at the “Oscars of Infectious Diseases” and to honor two outstanding leaders in the field at the 2014 NFID Awards Dinner. David Walton, MD, MPH was awarded the 2014 Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award and Richard L. Guerrant, MD received the 2014 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement. During his acceptance speech, Dr. Walton noted that “individuals don’t achieve…

A Personal and Professional Honor

Each recipient of the NFID Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement has a story to tell–from their early beginnings, to career advancement and accomplishments, to colleagues and mentors to thank. One story that they all tell is what winning the prestigious award means to them. For the 2014 Maxwell Finland Awardee, Richard L. Guerrant MD, “This is a huge personal and…

Improving the Lives of Children in Resource-Poor Areas

According to William A. Petri, Jr., MD, PhD, a friend and colleague of Richard L. Guerrant, MD, the recipient of 2014 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, “Dr. Guerrant is an international leader in the field of gastrointestinal pathogens and his hallmark contributions to better understanding of the causes, long-term effects, and treatment of persistent or chronic diarrhea make him an ideal…

Can You Guess What These Five Distinguished Scientists Have in Common?

Take a look at the list of people below. Can you guess what these five distinguished scientists have in common (besides all being in the field of medicine)? John G. Bartlett, MD Anthony S. Fauci, MD Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD C. Everett Koop, MD Stanley A. Plotkin, MD They are all recipients of the NFID Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific…