Skip to main content


NFID Award Tiffany
The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) presents annual awards to outstanding individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to public health through scientific achievement, philanthropy, and/or policy work.


2020 NFID Award Recipients

Penny M. Heaton, MD, Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award
Claire V. Broome, MD, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement
Richard J. Whitley, MD, John P. Utz Leadership Award

NFID will present the Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, and John P. Utz Leadership Award at a black-tie dinner on June 11, 2020 in Washington, DC.

Read more about the 2020 awardees

View photos and highlights of the 2019 awards dinner


NFID Award Nominations

The deadline (July 1, 2019) to submit 2020 nominations has now passed. Online nominations for 2021 awards will be accepted beginning in Spring 2020.