Dr. Charles MérieuxThe award is named for Dr. Charles Mérieux, the distinguished French virologist (1907-2001), who used in-vitro cultivation to produce millions of doses of vaccines to fight human and veterinary viruses including polio, rabies, meningitis, diphtheria, tetanus, and foot-and-mouth disease. During World War II, he expanded operations at the microbiological laboratory set up by his father, a protégé of Louis Pasteur, distributing blood plasma to members of the Resistance and a serum to help malnourished children. In 1947, Mérieux founded the French Institute of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (later renamed the Mérieux Institute). The Mérieux Institute later formed a joint venture with the Pasteur Institute. Mérieux also established foundations to train public health technicians, an epidemiological teaching center, and a laboratory in Lyon to study hemorrhagic fever.

First offered in 2005, the award is presented at the NFID Annual Conference on Vaccinology Research.


2021 Barney S. Graham, MD, PhD
2020 Pierce Gardner, MD
2019 Alan R. Hinman, MD, MPH
2018 John F. Modlin, MD
2017 Samuel L. Katz, MD
2016 Kathryn M. Edwards, MD
2015 D.A. Henderson, MD, MPH
2014 Stanley A. Plotkin, MD
2013 Robert G. Webster, PhD
2012 Arnold S. Monto, MD
2011 Robert B. Couch, MD
2010 Theodore C. Eickhoff, MD
2009 Paul A. Offit, MD
2008 Roger I. Glass, MD
2007 Walter A. Orenstein, MD
2006 Gregory A. Poland, MD
2005 Kristin L. Nichol, MD, MPH