Maurice R. Hilleman PortraitDr. Hilleman was a long-serving member of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) Board of Directors and Board of Trustees and was the 1998 recipient of the NFID Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement. This award recognizes promising scientists in the early stages of their careers in any field of vaccinology, from basic research, through preclinical and clinical studies, manufacturing, and production, to related research in public health, agriculture, health delivery, policy, and regulatory matters. The award provides funding to support research activities at the awardees’ institution as well as support to attend the following year’s Annual Conference on Vaccinology Research.

To apply for the award, applicants must submit an abstract for the NFID Annual Conference on Vaccinology Research and select “Poster Abstract Only” as the submission type. Finalists will be assigned a poster presentation slot at the conference. Following final judging, the selected winner will be notified and will present a 10-minute summary of their research during the conference.

Award winners of the Maurice R. Hilleman Early-Stage Career Investigator Award will be included in mandatory reporting to Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). All publications under the award must explicitly state that the awardees’ work has been performed as a Maurice R. Hilleman Early-Stage Career Investigator Award recipient. Acknowledgement must also be given to NFID and all sponsors supporting the award.


2020 Lauren A. Ford-Siltz, PhD
2019 Stephen N. Crooke, PhD
2018 Christopher P. Karch, PhD
2017 Jourdan Andersson
2016 Aimee L. Cunningham, PhD, MPH
2015 Jesse H. Erasmus
2014 Jason Warfel, PhD
2013 Yi-Ning Chen, DVM, PhD
2012 Olga Lihoradova, PhD
2011 Raphael Simon, PhD
2010 Helen Keipp B. Talbot, MD, MPH
2009 Saad Omer, MBBS, MPH, PhD
2008 Dominick J. Laddy, PhD
2007 Lisa Herron-Olson, PhD