Skip to main content


NFID Award Tiffany
The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) presents annual awards to outstanding individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to public health through scientific achievement, philanthropy, and/or policy work.


2020 NFID Award Recipients


Penny M. Heaton, MD, Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award




Claire V. Broome, MD, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement



Richard Whitley, MD


Richard J. Whitley, MD, John P. Utz Leadership Award



NFID will present the Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award, Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, and John P. Utz Leadership Award at a black-tie dinner at The Willard InterContinental on June 11, 2020 in Washington, DC.

Tickets may be purchased online at

Hotel reservations at the NFID discounted group rate may be booked online at by May 22, 2020

Read more about the 2020 awardees

View photos and highlights of the 2019 awards dinner


NFID Award Nominations

The deadline to submit 2020 nominations has now passed. Online nominations for 2021 awards will be accepted beginning in Spring 2020.