Maurice R. Hilleman Early-Stage Career Investigator Award


The Maurice R. Hilleman Early-Stage Career Investigator Award memorializes the lifetime achievements of Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD in the field of vaccinology. Dr. Hilleman was a long-serving member of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) Board of Directors and Board of Trustees and was the 1998 recipient of the NFID Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement. This award recognizes promising scientists in the early stages of their careers in any field of vaccinology, from basic research, through preclinical and clinical studies, manufacturing, and production, to related research in public health, agriculture, health delivery, policy, and regulatory matters. The award provides $10,000 to support research activities at the awardees’ institution as well as a travel stipend and complimentary registration to attend the following year’s Annual Conference on Vaccinology Research.

To apply for the award, applicants must submit an abstract for the NFID Annual Conference on Vaccinology Research (ACVR) and select Hilleman Award as the poster submission category. Finalists will be assigned a poster presentation slot at the ACVR. Following onsite judging, the selected winner will be announced and will present a 10 minute summary of their research during the conference.

Note that the award is funded in part by Merck & Co., Inc. and applicants must be in a position to accept funding. Furthermore, the Sunshine Act requires that Merck report any direct/indirect funding to US licensed physicians. Award winners of the Maurice R. Hilleman Early-Stage Career Investigator Award will be included in mandatory reporting to Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). All publications under the award must explicitly state that the awardees’ work has been performed as a Maurice R. Hilleman Early-Stage Career Investigator Award recipient. Acknowledgement must also be given to NFID and Merck as the sponsors supporting the award.


2020       Lauren A. Ford-Siltz, PhD

2019       Stephen N. Crooke, PhD

2018       Christopher P. Karch, PhD

2017       Jourdan Andersson

2016       Aimee L. Cunningham, PhD, MPH

2015       Jesse H. Erasmus

2014       Jason Warfel, PhD

2013       Yi-Ning Chen, DVM, PhD

2012       Olga Lihoradova, PhD

2011       Raphael Simon, PhD

2010       Helen Keipp B. Talbot, MD, MPH

2009       Saad Omer, MBBS, MPH, PhD

2008       Dominick J. Laddy, PhD

2007       Lisa Herron-Olson, PhD