January 16, 2013

Paul Offit, MD

Take a look at the list of people below. Can you guess what these five distinguished scientists have in common (besides all being in the field of medicine)?

  1. John G. Bartlett, MD
  2. Anthony S. Fauci, MD
  3. Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD
  4. C. Everett Koop, MD
  5. Stanley A. Plotkin, MD

They are all recipients of the NFID Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement. The award honors individuals for their scientific and public health achievement, legislative contributions, and philanthropy.

The Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement is named for Maxwell Finland, MD, a distinguished scholar and scientist who pioneered work in epidemiology and antimicrobial resistance and helped define the discipline of infectious diseases as we know it today. The award, developed in 1988, recognizes scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the understanding of infectious diseases or public health.

Selection criteria include:

  • Excellence in clinical and/or research activities
  • Participation in the training of future leaders in the field
  • Positive impact on the health of humankind

The 2013 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement will be presented to Dr. Paul A. Offit for his outstanding work in saving hundreds of thousands of lives and his insightful vaccine advocacy efforts. He is a pediatrician, researcher, academician, administrator, and author. He will be honored on Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at the 2013 NFID Awards Dinner at the Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City in Arlington, VA.

Learn more about the 2013 NFID Awards Dinner

Purchase tickets to the 2013 NFID Awards Dinner

To join the conversation, follow us on Twitter (@nfidvaccines) and use the hashtag #NFIDawards.