

December 8, 2022

As the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) celebrates its 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary, Rosalynn and I applaud the organization for the vital role it has played in educating the public and healthcare professionals about the prevention and treatment of infectious diseases across the human lifespan. Through its activities, NFID educates and engages millions—from families with small children to experienced healthcare professionals and community leaders. NFID is a leading organization promoting disease awareness and increasing health literacy to improve health outcomes for all. Rosalynn joins me in sending our congratulations to the 2022 NFID distinguished awardees.

NFID presents annual awards to recognize outstanding individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to public health through scientific achievement, philanthropy, and/or legislation. This year's honorees include:

Dr. Katherine L. O'Brien, MD, MPH, will receive the 2022 Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award in recognition of her achievements as an international leader in vaccinology and a tireless champion for global vaccine equity. Dr. O'Brien has provided outstanding leadership in shaping the COVID-19 vaccine global strategy, while advocating for equitable vaccine access throughout the world.

Dr. Barney S. Graham, MD, PhD, has been selected to receive the 2022 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, in recognition of his outstanding work in viral pathogenesis and vaccine development which culminated in the foundational discovery leading to safe and effective SARS-CoV-2 vaccines worldwide.

Dr. Bruce G. Gellin, MD, MPH, will be honored with the 2022 John P. Utz Leadership Award in recognition of his leadership and lifelong work to prevent infections through education, communication, and collaboration. Throughout his distinguished career, Dr. Gellin has held numerous positions leading and advising on global immunization, strategic policy development, and pandemic preparedness and response at national, multinational, non-governmental, and institutional organizations.

We are proud to honor these notable public health heroes for their accomplishments and continued efforts in improving health both in the US and abroad. We send our best wishes to the awardees and to everyone participating in this prestigious event.

Sincerely,

Timung Carte