Skip to main content

Anthony Fauci

The 2016 Oscars of Infectious Diseases

The infectious disease community recently celebrated three heroes at the 2016 NFID Awards Dinner, also known as the ‘Oscars’ of Infectious Diseases. Past awardee Anthony S. Fauci, MD, presented Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD with the 2016 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement, Robert E. Black, MD, MPH was presented the 2016 Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award by Mathuram Santosham, MD, MPH, and Larry K. Pickering, MD received the 2016 John P. Utz Leadership Award from NFID President-Elect Walter A. Orenstein, MD.

Answering Complex and Difficult Questions

The National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) recently presented the 2016 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement to Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD in recognition of her career as a distinguished virologist, renowned for her studies of measles and alphaviruses, as well as her leadership and dedication to mentoring the next generation of infectious disease investigators.

Can You Guess What These Five Distinguished Scientists Have in Common?

Take a look at the list of people below. Can you guess what these five distinguished scientists have in common (besides all being in the field of medicine)? John G. Bartlett, MD Anthony S. Fauci, MD Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD C. Everett Koop, MD Stanley A. Plotkin, MD They are all recipients of the NFID Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific…