Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement

Finland B&W

The Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement is presented annually by NFID to honor scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the understanding of infectious diseases and public health.

Selection criteria include:

  •     Excellence in clinical and/or research activities;
  •     Participation in the training of future leaders in the field; and
  •     Positive impact on global public health through domestic and/or international activities.

First presented in 1988, the Award is named for Maxwell Finland, MD, former member of the NFID Board of Directors, who died in 1989 at the age of 85. Dedicating his life to teaching, clinical research, and patient care, Dr. Finland pioneered work in the diagnosis, treatment, and epidemiology of bacterial infections; the evaluation of antimicrobials; and the demonstration of the evolving problem of antimicrobial resistance. He was a driving force in shaping infectious disease training programs in the United States and in defining the discipline of infectious diseases as we know it today.

Dr. Finland served as the first President of the Infectious Diseases Society of America and was a key figure in the establishment of the Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy.


2020    Claire V. Broome, MD

2019     Anne A. Gershon, MD
2018     Kathryn M. Edwards, MD
2017     Myron M. Levine, MD
2016     Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD
2015     Samuel L. Katz, MD
2014     Richard L. Guerrant, MD
2013     Paul A. Offit, MD
2012     George L. Drusano MD
2011     R. Palmer Beasley, MD
2010     Richard P. Wenzel, MD
2009     Stanley A. Plotkin, MD
2008     Martin S. Hirsch, MD
2007     Herbert L. DuPont, MD
2006     Robert C. Moellering, Jr., MD
2005     John G. Bartlett, MD
2004     George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
2003     George W. Comstock, MD, DPH
2002     Jerome O. Klein, MD
2001     Robert Austrian, MD
2000     R. Gordon Douglas, Jr., MD
1999     Stanley Falkow, PhD
1998     Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD
1997     Joshua Lederberg, PhD
1996     The Honorable Paul G. Rogers
1995     The Honorable Dale Bumpers and Mrs. Betty F. Bumpers
1994     Elizabeth Hanford Dole
1993     Arthur Ashe, Jr.
1992     Mrs. Albert D. Lasker and Michael E. DeBakey, MD
1991     P. Roy Vagelos, MD
1989     Anthony S. Fauci, MD
1988     C. Everett Koop, MD