John P. Utz Leadership Award


In 2007, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) established the John P. Utz Leadership Award as a lasting memorial to the late John P. Utz, MD, a founder of NFID and a champion in the fight against infectious diseases. To honor his memory and years of dedication to the profession and to NFID, the award is presented to individuals who exemplify and support NFID leadership goals, through service to NFID and/or the field of infectious diseases, as selected by the NFID Board of Directors. Current members of the NFID Board of Directors are not eligible for nomination.


2020   Richard J. Whitley, MD

2019    Richard E. Besser, MD
2018    Anne Schuchat, MD (RADM, USPHS)
2017    Thomas M. File, Jr., MD
2016    Larry K. Pickering, MD
2015    Richard J. Duma, MD, PhD
2013   William Schaffner, MD
2012    Susan J. Rehm, MD
2011    George C. Hill, PhD
2010    Len Novick
2009    Carol J. Baker, MD
2007    Donald M. Poretz, MD