Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award

Jimmy & Rosalynn Carter

The Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award is presented annually by NFID to honor individuals whose outstanding humanitarian efforts and achievements have contributed significantly to improving global public health through domestic and/or international activities. Priority is given to contributions in the area of infectious diseases.

Selection criteria include:

  • Humanitarian service;
  • Public education contributions; and/or
  • Legislative or policy achievements.

Established in 1997 by the NFID Board of Directors, the award is named for former President and Mrs. Carter, who as outstanding humanitarians, have worked tirelessly to improve the quality of life for people worldwide. They are co-founders of The Carter Center, a non-profit, nonpartisan organization based in Atlanta, GA. Through their work at The Carter Center, President and Mrs. Carter have worked to resolve conflict peacefully, promote democracy, protect human rights, and prevent and eradicate disease. In recognition of their efforts, President and Mrs. Carter were presented with the first Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Humanitarian Award in 1997.


2020     Penny M. Heaton, MD
2019     Jeremy Farrar, FRS
2018     Roger I. Glass, MD, PhD
2017     Peter Piot MD, PhD
2016     Robert E. Black, MD, MPH
2015     F. Marc LaForce, MD
2014     David A. Walton, MD, MPH
2013     Adetukonbo O. Lucas, MD
2012     Helene D. Gayle, MD, MPH
2011     Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, PhD
2010     Jennifer L. Howse, PhD
2009     Ann Lurie
2008     Louis W. Sullivan, MD
2007     William H. Foege, MD. MPH
2006     Paul E. Farmer, MD, PhD
2005     Former President Bill Clinton
2004     Henri Landwirth
2003     The Honorable John Edward Porter
2002     Bill and Melinda Gates
2001     Senator John D. Rockefeller, IV
2000     Robert Edward “Ted” Turner, III
1999     David Satcher, MD, PhD
1998     General Colin L. Powell
1997     Former President Jimmy Carter and Former First Lady Rosalynn Carter