NFID History


In early 1973, several individuals in the Infectious Disease Division at the Medical College of Virginia shared the belief that there should be a non-governmental organization or foundation to help support research, education, and prevention of infectious diseases. With similar foundations existing to support research and education related to birth defects, cystic fibrosis, cancer, heart disease, and kidney ailments, why not a similar organization for infectious diseases? At the same time, the National Institutes of Health was ending some of its training grants, reallocating its priorities, and drastically cutting back extramural research funding, leading to the creation of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) as a non-profit Virginia corporation.

Those individuals remained active in NFID for many years:

Dr. Smith Shadomy served as a founding NFID Director and was active with the organization until his death in 1991.

Dr. Richard J. Duma was NFID President from 1976-1991 and also served as its third executive director from 1991-1994. He served for the next nine years as an NFID trustee, six years as an NFID Director, and is now Director Emeritus.

Dr. H. Jean Shadomy served as Secretary/Treasurer and then Secretary of NFID for more than 20 years, and served an additional term as an NFID trustee.

Dr. John P. Utz was the first NFID President and served as vice president for 18 years. He was called back into service as president from 1991-1994 and continued to sit on the NFID Board of Directors as its president emeritus until 2004. Dr. Utz died in 2006.

NFID Leadership


John P. Utz, MD (1973-1976)

Richard J. Duma, MD, PhD (1976-1991)

John P. Utz, MD (1991-1994)

President Emeritus (1995-2004)

Leon G. Smith, MD (1994-1997)

Herbert L. DuPont, MD (1997-1999)

Ronald Lee Nichols, MD (1999-2001)

Susan J. Rehm, MD (2001-2004)  

Donald M. Poretz, MD (2004-2006)

Carol J. Baker, MD (2006-2008)

George C. Hill, PhD (2008-2010)

William Schaffner, MD (2010-2012)

Thomas M. File, Jr., MD (2012-2014)

Patrick Joseph, MD (2014-2016)

Walter A. Orenstein, MD (2016-2018)

Joseph A. Bocchini, Jr., MD (2018-2020)

Board of Trustees Chairs

Ernest Mario, PhD (1988-1992)

Charles A. Sanders, MD (1992-1994)

Paul G. Rogers (1994-2000)

Chairman Emeritus (2000-2008)

Roger W. Baker (2000-2001)

Guy B. Williams (2001-2005)

C. Douglas Webb, Jr., PhD (2005-2012)

Executive Directors
Robert F. Acker, PhD (1981-1986)

William E. Small (1986-1989)

Richard J. Duma, MD, PhD (1991-1994)

Leonard Novick (1995-2013)

Marla Dalton, CAE (2013-present)

NFID Senior Executive Director
William J. Martone, MD (1995-2003)

NFID Medical Director
Susan J. Rehm, MD (2004-2015)
William Schaffner, MD (2015-present)

Over the years NFID has maintained an unwavering commitment to implementing its mission through:

Public Education

Disease-specific awareness activities targeting hepatitis, influenza, pneumococcal disease, measles, varicella, tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis, rotavirus, meningitis and other conditions

News Conferences


Internet-based information for the public and the media

Journal CME publications, including monographs and Clinical Updates in Infectious Diseases series

Affiliated with Infectious Disease in Clinical Practice® (2010)

Professional Education

Accredited with Commendation by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) as a provider of CME for physicians

Sponsoring organization of many important cutting edge conferences, including:

  • National Forums on AIDS, Hepatitis, and Other Blood-Borne Diseases (1988-1992)
  • The First National Conference on Human Retroviruses and Related Infections (1993)
  • Annual Conference on Vaccine Research (1998-present)       
  • Annual Conference on Antimicrobial Resistance (2002-2010)
  • Clinical Course on New and Reemerging Infectious Diseases (1997-2005)
  • Clinical Vaccinology Course (2006-present) 
  • Internet-based education for healthcare professionals

Supporting Research in Infectious Diseases
Grants and Fellowship programs

Coalition Building
  • Organizer and leader of the National Coalition for Adult Immunization (1988-2000)
  • Co-sponsor National Partnership for Immunization (2000-2004)
  • Sponsor Houston School-Based Adolescent Hepatitis B Immunization Initiative (1998-2001)
  • Active participant in the activities of the National Influenza Vaccine Summit (2005-present)
  • Organizer and leader of the Childhood Influenza Immunization Coalition (2007-present)
  • Participant in the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Immunization Alliance (2008-present)
  • Participant in the STAAR Act Coalition (Strategies to Address Antimicrobial Resistance) (2008-present)
  • Collaborating organization – Making a Difference in Infectious Diseases (MAD-ID) Conference (2009-present)
  • Co-sponsor International Conference on Emerging Infectious Diseases (2010)
  • Convenor of Campaign for Adult Immunization
  • Collaborating organization IDSA 10 X 20 Initiative: Pursuing a Global Commitment to Develop 10 New Antibacterial Drugs by 2020
  • Leader of Calls to Action: protecting high-risk adults against pneumococcal disease; healthcare worker influenza immunization; adult immunization; adolescent immunization; influenza and children with asthma; improving influenza vaccination rates in people with diabetes; improving meningococcal vaccination rates in adolescents and reducing racial, ethnic and socioeconomic disparities; integrating vaccines for adults into routine care